Some people say that learning a foreign language is only useful for travelling or working in another country. Others believe there are other reasons to learn a second language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people believe that the knowledge of a foreign language is only beneficial for travel or work purposes, while others believe there are other motives for learning an international language. Although both perspectives have their own merits, I believe that learning a foreign language helps individuals not only with their job or travel but also with their personal development and enables them to make new friends from all over the world.

On the one hand, many people support that the learning of a foreign language is only valuable for travelling or working abroad. It is proven that, many countries do not translate all their words in english and that leads tourists struggling to understand essential information on their trip. Additionally, several companies are requiring from talents to speak the international language, in order to offer them the opportunity to work abroad. For example, in my country the big companies address in their job descriptions the requirement of speaking the greek language. However, I believe that acquiring a language benefit speakers in more aspects of their lives.

On the other hand, learning a foreign language reinforce the personal growth and give humans the opportunity to gain new friendships. In other words, speakers of an international language broaden their horizons and evolve their communicational skills. Moreover, individuals are able to make new friends globally and understand better their cultural background. For instance, students that acquired a foreign language, are more willing to communicate with locals and make friendships with them. For this reason, I believe that learning a second language is useful across many areas of our lives.

In conclusion, despite the fact that a second language is a useful skill for travelling and working, in my view there are many more benefits that apply in self-improvement.