Some people say that learning a foreign language is only useful for travelling or working in another country. Others believe there are other reasons to learn a second language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A group of people claim that learning another language is merely useful for journeys or working abroad. However, some assume that there are other factors why people have to be bilingual. Both opinions will be explored before stating my own opinion.

On the one hand, a preponderance of people consider that knowing a foreign language can only be useful when people work or travel abroad. To illustrate, individuals desiring to possess a job or do sightseeing in a foreign country have to know decent information about the language of this country to become successful in finding a niche or communication with local people. Furthermore, if a person does not learn a language before going abroad, he will encounter with some daunting issues, such as lack of understanding, inability to convey your ideas, and consequently, he will be obliged to come back to his home country.

Conversely, others contend that there are some other factors why human beings have to be multilingual. For instance, being able to read and comprehend another language apart from your language can make some benefits, such as forging some bonds with online people from different cultures or backgrounds, reading some books in various languages watching some films in their original styles. As a result of these factors, individuals are able to enrich their outlook, being more worldly and sagacious people.

Taking everything into accounts, advocates of this opinion think that knowing more than one language is only useful if you want to go to a country where you want to see places of interest or have a job. Nonetheless, opponents of this view, including me, claim that being bilingual can be beneficial to do some recreational activities ,such as watching films, making friends from other countries and hence, enriching outlook.