Some people say that more money should be invested in science than in other subjects. Do you agree or disagree with this belief? Explain your viewpoint with reasons and include appropriate examples based on your knowledge or experiences.

Many people advocate the view that a large amount of funding should be invested in science compared to other subjects. Even though I agree that science is vital for further development, I still disagree that other subjects should be neglected.

On the one hand, prioritizing science funding is important because it directly can save human lives and improve global health. Investment is the primary requirement for developing new treatments, vaccines, and improving medical technologies; without it, achievements cannot be made. For instance, continuous investment in medical science has led to breakthroughs such as the technology that can remove the extra chromosome. In detail, Japanese scientists used CRISPR to eliminate an extra chromosome responsible for Down syndrome. Without constant funding, the medicine field would not be revolutionized.

On the other hand, supporting creative fields plays a significant role among society. Art, humanity, history, and law are important parts of academic disciplines, which hold a nation’s cultural identity. These subjects promote creativity, deep understanding of masterpieces, and law systems. For example, art and history broaden people’s horizons, while humanity teaches morality. Therefore, the government should provide funding for other subjects too.

In conclusion, the investment in different categories should be balanced, as it gives society more opportunities from both sides such as new medical discoveries and a sense of creativity with new experiences.