Some people say that school children should be given individual class work, while others think that working in small groups is better for them. Discuss both approaches and include your own opinion.

Whether students should be working individually or in group is a controversial issue. While one part of the society claim that they reap more benefits when working alone, I side with those who argue for team work.

One the one hand, individual class work is said to promote individuality. This is primarily due to the free space given to youngsters during individual work to express their own identity and unique traits. Some studies, for instance, have shown that Japanese students who were assigned to work alone in a science project revealed more creative and unexpected performance than those of their counterparts who work in groups. Accordingly, if children had the chance to work by their own, they are less likely to be restricted by the opinion or pace of the other members of the group. This is probably why this opinion has garnered support.

On the other hand, I personally would argue that group class assignments would enhance teamwork skills in young children. Working in groups has become the trend of the modern world and, accordingly, it is highly recommended that juveniles learn how to be a part of a team at an early age. Although I concede that blending in a group tend to be a challenging task, I still hold the view that its rewards exceeds its pitfalls. Take co-operate learning for example. It has been proved in many educational studies that it is one of the most productive methods of learning. Therefore, group class work at schools can boost the students’ communication and acceptance qualities more than any other model of learning.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable that fostering independency and individuality could be the reward of working alone, group-work, in my view, empowers the essential skills needed to be in a team, which would prepare students to the real world.