Some people say that schools should concentrate on teaching students academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Other people say that subjects such as music and sports are also necessary. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that school bears heavy responsibility in terms of guiding students towards success, and that what ever is taught to them during schooling will affect their mindset and future careers. Therefore, what should and should not be taught at school has emerged as a topic of interest. Some argued that it is crucial for core subjects to be given priority in education, while others countered that athletic and artistic subjects should also hold the same significance. This essay will discuss both perspectives on the argument and negotiate whether this is beneficial or not.

It is understandable how people may subscribe to the idea of prioritizing academic knowledge. The constant development of society is often paralleled by the rising significance of core knowledge, which is the driving force behind the main objective of attending school, and it is to have a financially viable career in the future. As a result of this, it is of the belief of many that the major purpose of schools is to provide necessary academic skills that can support the adaptability to competitive job markets, making one employable to financially supportive careers. In brief, one must acquire more academic knowledge to meet the high criteria offered by contemporary society in order to stand a higher chance of employment.

Despite the aforementioned importance of core knowledge, I contend that non-academic subjects hold the same importance. While these subjects may not be directly helpful in securing employment, they indirectly increase the chance of job acceptance. Subjects such as sports, music and art better stimulate attributes such as creativity, collaborative skills, and leadership, which are conducive to getting jobs since firms seek beyond technical expertise and attach priority to such qualities. In addition, putting emphasis in athletic and artistic subjects would be supportive in terms of discovering young talents in those fields. If students are not trained or taught these subjects, they would not be able to reach their full potential and express themselves to the fullest.

In conclusion, while academic subjects hold great value in education, I strongly assert that non-academic subjects bear the same importance, and that both should be equally emphasized