Some people say that the Internet is making the world smaller by bringing people together. To what extent do you agree that the internet is making it easier for people to communicate with one another?

It is widely considered that Internet-based communication will connect individuals all over the world together. From my viewpoint, I completely agree with this statement, and the following essay will further discuss about this concept.

There are two major reasons why many people decide to communicate with each other via the Internet. Firstly, thanks to the significant development of science and technology, online messages might be one of the most ideal choices for many users from different regions to stay in touch with each other. For example, a university student who lives far away from his or her hometown might choose to use a popular text app called Messenger to contact their parents. Secondly, children could enhance their language skills, especially writing and speaking. Making friends with children from another nation via Facebook basically exemplifies this justification, as they might stand better opportunities of acquiring interesting knowledge about each other’s language through texts and online calls.

On the contrary, there could be some drawbacks of opting for communicating with individuals online. To begin with, not all accounts on some online platforms are secure. For instance, there are a number of scammers on the Internet with an aim to intrude other’s important data, which poses a threat to the security of many individuals’ electronic devices. Additionally, compared to large cities worldwide, there are a number of places where the Internet connection is unstable. Mountainous areas of Quang Ngai province of Vietnam may exemplify this statement, where most inhabitants are not familiar with Internet usage due to geographical constraints.

To summarize, although there might be some disadvantages from contacting others online such as online security and limited access to the Internet, those drawbacks cannot ever outweigh the advantages.