Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is that loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, many people argue about environmental issues, especially which of ecological problems ought to be faced primarily. Therefore, a question arises whether the loss of biodiversity is the most urgent challenge. As for me, I cannot adhere to this point of view and in this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons why I think so.

To begin with, I am absolutely convinced that climate change is vastly superior to other global problems. In the last decades rising temperatures have increased the number of natural disasters, has made water a less accessible resource, led to appearance of new diseases. These and lots of other consequences threaten the survival of the whole planet. By the way, global warming leads also to extinction of species on land and in the oceans. One million species are in danger of disappearing.

The next challenge that seems to be one of the most dangerous is environmental pollution that encompasses water, soil and air contamination. It carries severe impacts on living organisms, humans and nature as a whole. For example, air pollution is very hazardous as it can be the cause of many respiratory diseases as well as allergy. At the same time, it also put biodiversity under risk as a number of plants and animals are very sensitive and cannot cope with changes in ecosystems.

To sum up, I’m sure that there is no alternative but to address all environmental problems in complex as one multifaceted global challenge. The loss of particular species is nothing but the result of other changes. I suppose only a holistic approach could extend the life of our planet.