Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems

In today’s world, some individuals believe that the major environmental issue is the decrease of some species of flora and fauna. Others think that there are much more crucial environmental concerns. This essay will discuss both sides and give my own opinion.

On the one hand, the extinction of species is a main environmental problem because it causes irreversible damage to ecosystems. Each species plays a significant role in wildlife cycles and maintaining balance. For instance, plants, such as trees, grasses and flowers, produce oxygen by photosynthesis. It can prevent a global disease, such as climate change and air pollution. Additionally, the loss of particular species influences people’s mental health. According to research, people who do not spend time walking in parks or breathing fresh air may increase the risk of cancer as a result of prolonged stress.

On the other hand, there are world issues that many consider more immediate and wide-ranging. Lack of water, for example, leads to huge detrimental consequences on individuals’ lives. One of the main causes is population growth, which increases the demand for drinking water, agriculture, and industry. Water shortage leads to problems with pollution, while pollution from industrial waste makes much of the remaining water unsafe for consumption. As a result, it leads to problems with healthcare, pollution (such as water and air pollution), and social conflicts.

In my opinion, the lack of water is the more essential issue because it creates not only environmental problems but also can lead to social inequality.

In conclusion, water scarcity is the main environmental challenge of our time.