Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by many that the extinction of certain species of plants and animals is the major environmental problem of the present day, while others believe that there are bigger concerns regarding the environment that should be addressed. In my opinion, although loss of species will result in disruption of the ecosystem and disturbance of the food chain, I agree that there are more crucial environmental issues to give our attention to, such as, climate change, global warming and ozone depletion as they are worsening at a faster rate.

On the one hand, extinction of species have considerably distorted the balance of the ecosystem resulting in lesser biodiversity and economic consequences. Moreover, disruption of the food chain caused by loss of certain species can have a domino effect on various of animal population. For instance, disappearance of plant population can lead to los in the primary food source of herbivores animals leading to their death.

On the other hand, other concerns of the enviornment, namely climate change, global warming and ozone depletion are taking a turn for the worse each day. The faster the progression of such issues, the shorter time there is for any kind of intervention. This is exemplified by the melting of polar caps in Antartica resulting in an increase in sea level. Another good example is the rse in number of people affected by heat strokes each passing summer.

In conclusion, despite extinction having grevious effects on the ecosystem and biodiversity, I belive that other issues like global warming, climate change and depletion of the ozone layer should be taken more seriously as they are going downhill faster.