Some people say that we should not slaughter animals for our benefits. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A school of thought claim that animal slaughtering is not fair enough just to gain advantages for human race. It seems that killing of animals is not justified for human benefits in terms of three major areas: food source and research.

The first area is use of animals as sources of food. Supporters of animal slaughtering would argue that animal meat is the source of protein which is necessary for us. While this may be true to some extent, it should not be overlooked that there are other sources of protein like vegetable proteins, for example lentils and beans. Moreover, vegetarians around the globe have proved to even live longer than others. Therefore, animal meat cannot be an essential part for our living.

Secondly, the area is use of animals in research field. Defenders of animal use very often claim that use of animals in research is justifies because animals suffer for the greater benefits of human being. Although a few people approve this idea, I would rather argue that there better alternative like human tissue cell culture that has been proved to be producing more precise results. Thus, considering this point, testing on animals can be avoided too.

All in all, in my opinion, while this is true that there are a few benefits for people, the alternative options to animal slaughtering can provide us with the opportunity to reduce animal use and thus ensure animals to enjoy greater rights in addition to the benefit of conserving animal variety on earth. Therefore, I strongly agree with the given proposition that the killing of animals just because we can extract benefits from them does not seem justified.