Some people say that the only reason for learning the foreign language is in order to or work in foreign country.Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

In our globalized world, multilingualism or bilingualism – learning more than one language – is becoming increasingly common. While some people claim that the reason behind this phenomenon should be the opportunity to travel to or work in a foreign country, others argue that there should be other intentions to learn a new language, such as interest in a certain nationality. I believe that there are undoubtedly other intentions to learn a new language.

In certain cases, people tend to learn a new language because of traveling, as visiting a new country without knowing the language may cause a language barrier, affecting the quality of the travel. In order to prevent those inconveniences, people prepare in advance and learn the new language even though they may not need it in the long run. Another key reason is employment opportunities. Getting a language certificate does not only increase the chances of promotion or a higher salary, but also creates an opportunity to improve their skills in their field by visiting different countries abroad, making them more experienced in their area. For instance, many business entrepreneurs who are well-spoken in a foreign language often get hired more than those who know only a single language. Therefore, individuals may learn a foreign language so as to achieve success on their career path.

On the other hand, the reason for learning a new language might be beyond traveling or working. Some people learn a new language in order to learn about a certain nation, its heritage, culture, and history deeply. Even though it does not provide them with money, it gives them satisfaction, enhancing the quality of their life. For instance, there are many people who learn outdated and old languages which are not used by anyone now, just to improve their historical knowledge. This is one of the numerous examples where individuals learn a language not to travel or work, but because they are passionate about it.

To sum up, while employment and traveling might be primary and more common reasons to learn a new language, there are also other personal reasons to learn a new language.