Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet?

A few clicks on one’s digital screen is all it takes to have access to any kind of information these days. Though, it may seem to be advantageous, consuming this data without any filter can prove to corruptly overrule the merits of this whole affair.

Some people opine that the government should be responsible for censoring the internet and controlling what is available to the general public, whereas some interpret this move to be a form of dictatorship and claim it to be a disruption of their freedom.

Looking at the issue from the bigger picture, both groups contribute meaningful opinions. On one hand, as can be seen in the case of North Korea, the dictatorship has supreme control over what the citizens know, thus, depriving its people from essential development and withholding their right to a free life. In contrast, a country wherein no restrictions are placed on the information that can be accessed digitally, vulnerable people and children can be influenced strongly by the knowledge they consume and this can have detrimental effects on the quality of life.

I personally believe it to be right, for the ruling party of a country to barricade certain information from its civilians, however, this must be within limits and not hinder people from living and experiencing everyday happenings.

In today’s world, where technology has a say in every sphere of life, it is of utmost importance that we behave responsibly and judge the information that is capable of influencing us.