Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet?

Nowadays, a large amount of dangerous content can be found on the internet, and some people argue that it would be better if the government censored certain types of material in order to keep social networks safe. The assertion about the existence of harmful content appears to be true, but this essay disagrees with the suggestion. A too powerful government and the possibility of choosing between other solutions are the main reasons for the disagreement.

The internet has always been a free portal, from where people can obtain any kind of information and, sometimes, even material considered dangerous for sensitive individuals could actually become a source of information, such as news about a war or a serial killer. Consequently, the government should not limit access to these types of content; otherwise, it would become a political threat. In fact, censorship has been used in the past by dictatorial regimes, such as fascism or Nazism, as a form of control and manipulation of public opinion. For instance, last year, during an Italian music festival, a singer said, “Stop the genocide,” after his performance and, as a result, the TV channel cut it from the episode, as the government required. So, Italians directly associated this issue with a fascist behavior.

Furthermore, the main reason why people claim the need to limit the content of websites is related to the number of children who spend their time on social networks, such as TikTok and YouTube. Of course, it is important that children stay away from dangerous or violent content, but the government should not apply these restrictions to everyone. As many sites and apps have already done, a solution could be the option to apply a filter for children. For instance, streaming apps like Netflix and Disney+ have created a section for younger people, whereas YouTube allows the possibility of applying restrictions if the app is being used by a child. But, parental control is needed, and parents have this responsibility.

In conclusion, the internet can sometimes seem dangerous, due to the presence of harmful content, and many people request that the government censor this type of information, but such action represents a violation of democracy and a political issue. As a result, it would be better to adopt other solutions, as many other websites or apps have already done.