Some people say that young people should be encouraged to leave home when they become adults while others claim it is better if they remain with their family. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is asserted by many that young adults ought to be motivated to leave home once they grow up, while others think it better to stay with their family. This essay will explore both perspectives. Personally, I believe that although young adults who stay away from family develop self-dependence and other life skills, staying with family is more important because it ensures financial stability and better family relationships.

Those who argue in favour of young adults living independently away from home believe that it helps them acquire independence and essential life skills. Living independently, put simply, requires managing house chores, financing and other daily responsibilities. Consequently, young people can learn essential life skills that contribute to their maturity and personal growth. A young adult who leaves his parent’s home, for instance, needs to learn how to draw up a budget, pay bills and adhere to that budget.

On the contrary, proponents of young adults staying with family argue that it gives them financial stability and strengthens family bonds. Without a doubt, families can provide a financial safety net for young adults, allowing them to save money on rent, utilities and other living expenses by sharing the expenses with their family. This financial support can allow them to invest in their education, and personal growth, or save for their future goals. For example, a youngster who is pursuing tertiary education may choose to remain with his family to lighten the financial burden of apartment rent or other household expenditures. Moreover, young adults who stay with their families are more likely to take responsibility when their parents get older. The constant interactions with family members keep them close-knit and it helps create a better societal practice in which family comes first. I therefore believe that a young adult staying at home is far better than leaving their home.

In conclusion, although staying away from home after reaching adulthood can help them develop self-reliance and other life skills, it is evident that staying at home provides them with financial stability and better family ties, which proves to be far more beneficial.