Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

A number of people prefer leading their lives in the town they were born and raised or they live close to those places. There is something that gives the people a feeling of being connected to their roots. There are many advantages of living close to the place one is born, and while we acknowledge the advantages, we cannot deny the disadvantages that come along.

Living in proximity to one’s birthplace makes them closer to their loved ones, and gives them a feeling of oneness. Festivals, and holidays are more fun and worthwhile when the family celebrates them together. If the hometown has something which makes it lack behind in terms of progress, living nearby makes the people aware of it and the collective efforts of the residents there can make it a better place, so that their upcoming generations do not have to migrate far away from where their heart lies for the sake of better opportunities.

While the advantages cannot be denied, staying in one place for most of the lifetime of a person will make it a stagnant life, which often might be accompanied by mundane and monotonous routine. Travelling to different places and exploring new cultures allows one to open up themselves to a beautiful diversity that out population has. Migrating to a different place might be the last resort for many reasons such as lack of opportunity, the need to get better jobs for the wellbeing of the family, and the urge to feel the taste of freedom and liberty. This also facilitates the development of many cities, and makes every place multi-cultural and people will open heartedly welcome all the cultures, ethnicities and welcome them.

Staying close to where one was born makes them connected to their origin. Leaving the birthplace makes one open up to a wide variety of opportunities and might seem as a bright future for many. While spending a large part of the life where they were born make some happy, travelling and exploring the world brings joy to the rest of the people.