Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that countries should be self sufficient in food production and import a little food from other country. While producing food locally can create new jobs, international food could provide a chance for people to enjoy foreign cuisines. For me it is better to keep a balance between them.

On the one hand, development in rural areas and increase a number jobs might happen after producing food domestically. If a government cultivates all types of food locally, it will encourage more worker,s such as people for farming, transporting and packaging, which means it would create employment opportunities. The farming industry mainly locates in rural sides of the towns where road infrastructure is ruined, particularly near the farms, and there are few markets in the villages. If a government starts local cultivation, it would be a good reason in improvement lifestyles in the countrysides.

On the other hand, some people enjoy consuming global food, and it is believed that, importing foreign food can improve the quality of many lives. As international food is available in shops, people can try it and even match the quality of their food production with non-national one’s. It is a good chance to introduce foreign cuisines to society, i can take Chinese noodles as an example, people love to eat them because of their different flavor among many other national noodles. By comparing the differences between international food and local food, people can choose the better one’s and consume them.

In conclusion, while producing all the food domestically might be a good reason for enhancing the economy and farming, importing them is also essential for every country, as it improves people’s lifestyle and gives a variety of options for people.