Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that countries should try to produce whole types of food inside the country and do not buy it from abroad. In my opinion government should rise and manufacture as more as possible to have cost-effective and fresh products. Although it is easier to buy it abroad and then just sell it in the supermarkets without any additional farms or manufacturies.

It is better to have your own food manufacturing because in this case the price of final product will be lower. If food grow in the countryside, it would be cheaper and faster to deliver it to the cities. Transportation of products plays a key role in the final price of product. For example tranferring bananas from African countries to the US made by ships but their transfer from coutryside may be done by truck. The cost of ship transportation will be more expensive and slower than transfer from countryside. Moreover the speed of delivery effects on the fresh of food. The grocery in the city may change the fruits or vegetables every 1 or 2 days and keep them in a good condition while delivering from abroad may take few weeks.

On the other hand, the production anf building new farms on the countryside may be troublesome because new places should be prepared for growing, the temperature, earth and environment should be comfort for the vegetables or fruits. This is the biggest problem why it is easier to buy food abroad.

To conclude, the food production should have basic capital needed for opening and upgrading the enviroment but on the distance the food production inside the country will be profitable. The cost and fresh of products will positively effect on the citizens.