Some people think a job not only provides income but also social life. Others think it is better to develop social life with people you do not work with. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, there has been a considerable debate over whether a job can provide an income source but also a way for people to socialize, or whether such idea of developing a social life distinct from one’s employment is more advantageous. While the benefits surrounding collegial relationships are not unfounded, I firmly believe that the merits of intentionally cultivating a social life distinctly separate from others’ employment are far more substantial and enduring.

It is undeniable that collegiality can be advantageous to a certain extent. Perhaps the most obvious point is that workplace is often lauded for its desirable effects on social ecosystem. When people engage in daily interaction with their colleagues, it can help them naturally fosters professional networks at their workplace, which is essential for career support and promotion. This point is particularly correct in every companies such as Apple, Google or Amazon, where active and energetic employees often are often being supported by their mentors via team meetings. Therefore, new employees can gain valuable job advices from their seniors, thus improving their task performance at workplace. Additionally, a friendly workplace relationship does provide a sense of companionship, thereby reducing the feeling of isolation at office. In office settings, senior colleagues are utterly important for juniors’ mental health and job satisfaction. This is because the senior colleagues can share their empathy as well as their personal challenges, all of which help the employees feel supported and regain their morale, especially when they are dispirited by their faults at work.

Despite these legitimate benefits, the benefits of maintaining social life outside work environment remains indispensable for hobbies developing and for preventing work-life stress. By socializing outside workplace, employees will have higher chance to meet people with shared interests, it can be at the local pub, the cinema and at the other places. Therefore, they can develop the same hobbies and personal identity, all of which are crucial for a lifelong friendship. A compelling illustration of this point can be seen in many American-based companies and corporations, as employees are allowed not to work over time in order to promote their mental well-being. This humane corporate policy allows employees to develop friendships with people outside professional circles and enjoy healthy activities without being worried about job pressure. Furthermore, socializing outside work-hours also helps employees prevent from work-life stress spillover. Such approach that enable employees to separate their social and work life apart, thus avoiding gossip or competition outside workplace. Henceforth, the employees can maintain emotional balance, which is crucial for their healthier overall social relationships.

In conclusion, although collegial relationships are often lauded for its desirable values on employees, these benefits are not that significant and can be replaced. In a stark contrast, the merits of socializing outside workplace are fundamental and irreplaceable. For this reason, I reaffirm my conviction that the idea of intentionally cultivating a social life distinctly separate from others’ employment are of great significance to employees.