Some people think adults should learn practical skills by themselves, while others believe that learning from a teacher in a classroom is better. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals advocate that people are supposed to master some practical skills by themselves, while others hold a different view, arguing that adults should learn from a teacher in a classroom. Personally, I firmly second the latter viewpoint owing to concentration as well as suitable learning materials.

Obviously, self-study is an effective way to save people’s fortune, as there are numerous free courses, lectures and materials that people can easily find on the Internet or in the library, while offline classes tend to be extremely expensive. More specifically, it is greatly convenient and costless for individuals to acquire abundant valuable expertise, such as writing codes, communication skills and vocational guidance on several platforms like Coursera, YouTube or even TikTok. Conversely, citizens are easier to concentrate on study rather than getting distracted when they acquire knowledge in a classroom, in which teachers will supervise students and give some homework or worksheets that are beneficial to understanding those demanding knowledge, thereby helping the process of studying becoming more effeicient and effective.

On the other hand, teachers have a rich repertoire of skills and abilities and they possess lots of professional and systematic knowledge and experiences about how to teach students. In today’s era of information bomb, there are a great number of materials on the Internet, which leads that it is incredibly difficult for students to find appropriate teaching videos and books to learn. However, teachers are good at finding the most suitable ones and giving assistance in some situations. For instance, when students encounter various problems or difficulties, teachers have the ability to provide immediate feedback and guidance. Consequently, students are not required to worry about seeking materials and finding solutions, which certainly needs plenty of time, thereby saving their energy and helping them focus on study to get better academic performance.

In conclusion, from the perspectives of focus and suitable learning materials, I strongly believe that adults ought to take part in courses in classroom instead of learning by themselves.