Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People hold two different views about whether all crimes should result in imprisonment or they should be punished by different better alternatives. This essay will closely examine both viewpoints before concluding I lean toward the idea that they should be punished by better ways instead of prison.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people assume that offenders should be imprisoned. The key rationale is that all lawbreakers should serve a prison sentence to ensure the safety of other citizens. If people who engage in illegal activities are not locked away, they can pose a serious threat to their communities. Besides, this can help prevent offenders from reoffending after being released because they would be afraid of losing their freedom again. For example, cybercriminals are individuals who typically steal the personal information of users in cyberspace to make money by selling that information. When put into prison, they cannot carry out similar offences in cyberspace, and after being released, they are less likely to repeat them.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned argument, I firmly believe that there are better alternatives to reform offenders. The first is that offenders should be punished by working on deserted or sparsely inhabited islands. This is because working in that area prevents criminals from breeding resentment during their time in prison and decreases the re-offending rate after release. If living in prisons, criminals can still harbour resentment and may not be fully rehabilitated after undergoing harsh punishments in prison, which could put their communities in danger. Otherwise, this also contributes to developing the economic growth. Another better alternative is education. Lack of education is one of the root causes of crime, so to reduce the crime rate effectively, everyone should have access to proper education. When everyone is fully aware of the dangers of committing a crime, they will be less likely to engage in illegal activities.

In conclusion, while there is a justification for all offenders to prison, I would also contend that there are better ways to reduce the crime rate, such as sending offenders to sparsely inhabited islands for rehabilitation or raising awareness of illegal behaviour and its repercussions.