Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People hold two different views about whether all crimes should be put into prison or they should be punished by different better alternatives. This essay will closely examine both viewpoints before concluding I lean towards the idea that they should be fined for better ways instead of prison.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people assume that offenders should be imprisoned. The key rationale is that all lawbreakers should serve a prison sentence to ensure the safety of other citizens. If people who engage in illegal activities are not locked away, they can pose a serious threat to their communities. Besides, this can help prevent offenders from reoffending after being released because they would be afraid of losing their freedom again. For example, cybercriminals are individuals who typically steal the personal information of users in cyberspace to make money by selling that information. When being put into prison, they cannot carry out similar offences in cyberspace, while after being released, they are less likely to repeat them.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned argument, I firmly believe that there are better alternatives in order to reform offenders. The first way is that prisoners should be fined by working on deserted or sparsely inhabited islands. This is because when working in that area, it is preventing criminals from breeding resentment during their time in prison and decreasing the re-offending rate after being released. If living in prisons, criminals can still harbour resentment and have not been fully rehabilitated after undergoing harsh punishments in prison, which could put their communities in danger. Otherwise, this also contributes to developing the economic growth of the country. Another better alternative is to have an education. Lack of education is one of the root causes of the crimes, so in order to reduce the criminal rate effectively, everyone should have a chance to access proper education. When everyone is fully aware of the dangers of committing a crime, they would be less likely to engage in illegal activities.

In conclusion, while there is a justification for all offenders should be sent to prison, I would also contend that there are better ways to reduce the criminal rate, such as sending the offender to sparsely inhabited islands to carry out rehabilitation or raising awareness of people about the illegal behaviour and its repercussions.