Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into/sent to prison, while others believe that better tanlents among those should be made to work. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Several individuals believe all criminals should go to jail whilst other people argue that there are better substitutes for those whose crimeS are not serious, namely assisting individuals who have performed minor crimes to do some tasks for the local community. There are some reasonS that can explain these opinions; I agree with the latter perspective.

On the one hand, when they commit a crime, they violate one’s safety, so they must be punished lawfully so as to ensure fairness. Moreover, while they are in prison, they will lose some civil rights, such as the right to freedom of movement. Undoubtedly, they can understand the severe punishment that the court has convicted the criminals. Henceforth, it would be difficult for them to engage in recidivism after being released from the prison.

On the other hand, there are better alternative solutions for low-level offenders like community services – cleaning trash in parks, sweeping the streets, taking part in vocational-training classes and so on. These activities teach them to have more discipline and responsibility for the society as a whole. When those offenders perform public community services, there is a possibility that they become better since they feel more useful, and eventually, it would be hard to reoffend.

In my opinion, I totally agree with the latter statement. After being released from the prison, the ex-convicts usually face social discrimination; therefore, it would be difficult for them to rejoin the social community. Through allowing them to do community services, they gain more skills. For example, after finishing vocational-training classes, they could know how to repair four-wheel vehicles. These skills assist them to find a stable job and have enough money to live their lives.

In conclusion, there are those who consider the offenders should be in prison in order to ensure equality, whereas there are individuals whom they believe low-level-offending individuals should serve community services. Personally speaking, the second view is more possible and has more humanity.