Some people think art should be taught in schools, while others believe it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is thought that art ought to be taught in schools, whereas others argue that it is useless. While both views are sensible to an extent, I maintain that its benefits, such as reasoning and strengthened cultural identity, are often overlooked.

On the one hand, studying art is a waste of time from an educational perspective, as core academic subjects, such as math and physics, are more essential. For example, a school that increased time for math and reading experienced higher results in exams as opposed to one which did not. Therefore, some schools are in favor of a notion that art unnecessary.

Nevertheless, some dispute that art plays a key role in cultivating reasoning, because it allows students to visualize things they would like to draw vividly. For instance, if students eager to draw a scenery, first of all, they should picture it as vivid as possible. In the long run, this enables students to reason better by accumulating practical facts and evidence in their minds. Thus, it is thought that art has a favorable impact on students’ cognitive development.

Personally, I suppose that the advantageousness of art should not be disregarded, as it plays a key role in preserving our cultural. Take Suzani – traditional Central Asian embroidered textile – as an example, because learning such conventional textiles remind students their cultural roots. Accordingly, I strongly believe that art classes are monumentally important owing to its contribution to cultural conservation.

In conclusion, although some individuals consider art as being a waste of time, I maintain that art is essential due to the obvious advantages outlined before.