Some people think basic healthcare should be free for everyone. Others believe people should pay their own medical costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The cost of medical services has been a subject of intense debate recently. Some believe that it should be free of charge, while others argue that fees be paid. This essay will discuss both of these viewpoints.

There are two main reasons for being exempt from paying healthcare fees: greater access and social safety assurance. First of all, it fosters an accessible approach to proper healthcare service. This allows patients to get treatments from licensed medical facilities without being hindered by the high cost or any financial barriers, which makes it an effective measure. Secondly, free-of-charge medical service provides the community with a sense of safety. Not being liable for healthcare can ensure a reliable medical system to fall back on. Hence, not only does it meet basic human needs, but it can also be the first step to a well-developed society.

On the contrary, being free from medical expenses may be unfeasible as there is a financial burden on the government and decreased health consciousness. Authorities might be troubled by several financial problems. Without patients paying the bills, it is difficult for them to ensure sufficient resources, including the hospitals’ management and operation. As a result, it will be a difficult task for the government to redistribute the budget for other fields. Another point that should be considered is that society’s health consciousness can be decreased. People might be overdependent on the available medical services. Consequently, they will no longer prioritise disease prevention and maintaining a healthy lifestyle.

In conclusion, free-of-charge healthcare can be a good idea for comprehensive medical services for people regardless of their circumstances; however, it is also necessary that these fees should be covered for the upkeep of high-quality medical care and individuals’ consciousness about this matter.