Some people think government should make university education free regardless of financial status. To what extent you agree or disagree

It is argued that students of any financial background should receive free-of-charge courses in university from the authorities. From my perspective, I contend that this approach benefits students in certain aspects, yet it should be accompanied by several limits to reduce negative impacts on the government.

On the one hand, there are two major advantages of this policy. Firstly, offering free educational fee courses contributes to increasing the societal intellectual level, as a lot of students can not engage in a university due to a lack of finances. Once finance is no longer their burden, they can completely concentrate on their studies which allows them to achieve better academic results and acquire more exceptional opportunities in the future. Secondly, not worrying about tuition fees allows students to develop themselves comprehensively in other aspects. To illustrate, instead of paying college fees, the amount of saved money can be ultilised to invest in some classes which can contribute to enhancing their soft skills or sactifying their interests, such as singing, dancing,…

On the other hand, although this policy has certain advantages, it still advestly impacts on the government, especially the national budget. To implement this approach, the authorities have to spend a large sum of money to maintain leading to a financial burden, which hinder nations from investing in other fields such as health, technology, trade,.. If there are no free-of-charge courses provided, tuition fees earned from students can be used to other purposes contributing to developing economy and living standard. In addition, instead of providing a free academic system for all students, the government should apply some conditions for students to achieve avoiding wasting national budget. For example, organising some competitions with scholarships facilitates students’ attempts to obtain or raising funds support students who have a less affluent background to continue their studies.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that free-of-charge tuition fees policy brings students some benefits in eliminating financial burden and developing themselves; however, it still has a side effect on national budget so the government should have some accompanying conditions.