Some people think governments should spend money looking for life on other planets, while others believe that there are many unsolved problems on Earth. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In these days and ages the discussion about investing money in searching for a life on other planets has become a debatable issue in society. As it is widely believed that the government should spend money on the exploration of other possible places out of earth to inhabit, whereas the opponents disagree with the idea of wasting money on the research since there are enough problems on the earth. Personally, I believe these days it would be more beneficial to tackle the problems available on the planet we live in at the moment.

There are many reasonable reasons why people look forward to seeing some searches on space in the hope of finding a possible residential area to dwell for people in the future. The first reason may be the idea of not believing in the planet they have settled down, since the environmental and social problems have increased significantly. What is more, they are more likely to lose their hope of a sustainable and safe world from now on. Although they tend to think as if the earth has been destroyed by humanity and people’s reckless behaviour, they are less likely to be involved in initiatives to save the world altogether with others. Conversely, those who believe it can be real to find a new world require the government to take great measures. For instance, one of the billionaires, Elon Musk often claims and promises a new life, new world on Mars, and he even spends a substantial amount of money on these projects by sending astronauts into space. Therefore, thanks to him, an increasing number of people do rely on dwelling on Mars in the next decades or centuries. While it sounds incredibly exciting and feasible due to the presence of technological advancements, I tend to believe it is a total waste of money and time.

People who assume there are more problems in our natural world are completely right and realistic. The foremost reason why they are right is because the actual reason why others are desperate for looking for another planet. If it was not the case, they would not think about moving out. It simply shows that on earth there are problems available that may destroy life and be the end of everything, such as fumes coming from factories, crisis in health care, viruses which are believed to be spread on purpose by some authorities. Even though we do not know the reason of it; however, people should stand up for the natural homeland, world to fight against and be responsible for what they can cause. Furthermore, instead of imagining a new life out somewhere, it would be more beneficial to address the issues with the help of governments, nationalities all over the world. For example, COP29 – an organization of other nationalities’ authorities and nations – gathered in Baku, Azerbaijan in 2025, to discuss environmental problems and various ways of implementation of resolutions.

In conclusion, unlike those who demand a new “Earth” in space, the majority of people oppose this project and try to protect the Earth by sorting out the crucial problems. In my opinion, appreciating and devoting oneself to save our planet is a rewarding feeling for many