Some people think hosting major international sporting events brings a lot of advantages to a country, while others believe there are more disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays some people believe that running major global sporting events gives lots of positives to a nation, while others argue that there are more drawbacks. Personally I think that hosting globally sporting events is beneficial.

It is true that managing an international sport event can bring back some disadvantages. First of all, hosting a global sport competition can affect a nation’s financial state. In order to host an international sport championship a country needs to be able to invest in wide-range of categories such as entertainment purposes, locations for competing, rewards,.. It costs a fortune to run an international sport event, for instance, the last world cup event, the host country has to spend billions of dollars for the construction of the new football stadium which is very pricey. If the nation cannot attract many visitors, their financial state can be affected badly.

Aside from the first drawback, another disadvantage is global sport competitions can have a negative impact on the image of the country. There is no doubt that sporting events like olympics, world cup,… Are witnessed by billions of people. By just a minor mistake it can ruin the fame of a country, for example the last olympic game which is hosted by france was criticized harshly by a large number of viewers and travelers even some famous celebrities because of some controversial topics. As a result, millions of visitors turned their back on this country.

While hosting a global sporting competition can be risky, however, I would argue that this can be an opportunity which may bring lots of benefits to a country if they are well managed. Firstly, by running a world-wide sporting tournament, it can benefit the country’s finances. A global competition can provide lots of opportunities for marketing from selling sport clothing, toys, souvenirs to event tickets. Additionally, it can boost the country’s economic development. Qatar was the last world cup host, after the event, this nation gained billions of dollars which increased their economy.Another advantage is global sporting competitions can assist the country’s tourism. With the popularity of the sporting event, it attracts lots of visitors to the country to witness the tournament. Global sporting competitions contain a lot of superstars which catch millions of fans’ attention and encourage them to visit the host country in order to meet their idols. Furthermore, hotels, bars and other tourism hospitalities can gain more profits which assist the prosperity of the nation’s tourism.

In conclusion, while there are some drawbacks about hosting international sporting events, however, I believe that this bring lots of benefits to the country.