Some people think hosting major international sporting events brings a lot of advantages to a country, while others believe there are more disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, being a host country for worldwide sport events has become a subject of intense debate. While some individuals hold the convictions that organizing large-scale global events can significantly benefit a nation, others argue that these events create more problems than opportunities. This essay will first elucidate the drivers of both perspectives, thereby proposing personal standpoint on the matter

Proponents of hosting global sporting championships often emphasize its fundamental role in economic boost. This is because these sport events are associated with a multitude of both domestic and international audiences, who have a profound enthusiasm for watching sports. This, in turn, can increase spending on hotels, restaurants, and local business. An illustration of this can be found in the fact that in 2014, when the World Cup took place in Brazil, these events caused room rates and transportation costs to skyrocket. Not only does it enhance economic growth, but it also facilitates the promotion of culture and tourism. This can be attributed to the fact that tourists paying a visit to other countries are inclined to be eager to acquire knowledge in the country they visit. As a consequence, they might learn about the cultures and travel by tasting cuisines, or commuting to several tourist attractions. Accordingly, the culture and customs in that country are capable of being promoted throughout the globe, paving the way for its cultural identities.

Nevertheless, critics argue that organizing global events may take a toll on the natural surroundings. In contemporary society, where environmental degradation is a matter of concern; thereby, hosting sport events can pose a threat to the environment. This is because when audiences watch sport competitions, they might make a purchase of instant food, encompassing popcorn, bread and sweetened beverages. For that reason, some people’s lack of awareness might litter trash indiscriminately, making the space messy and causing environmental pollution.

This can be exemplified by the fact that in 2008, where the Olympics were held in China, faced criticism for the large amounts of waste produced by spectators. In addition to this, the cost of building new stadiums, sports facilities, and other venues can be enormous. This includes both the physical construction and the technological upgrades needed for global events. Therefore, disadvantages may significantly exert negative effects on the state when organizing international sport events.

In conclusion, despite the significant costs and financial challenges associated with hosting major international sports events, I lean towards the numerous benefits they offer. These events stimulate economic growth and promote cultural identities to the world, then contributing to the development of the country.