Some people think if students are afraid of teacher, it is better. Others say that having a friendly relationship is better. In your opinion, should teachers be friendly toward students or keep a strict discipline toward them?

It is often argued whether teachers ought to tighten the control over their students or build positive and tension-free learning atmosphere. Although disciplined teaching process proves to be successful in some cases, I consider that students should be treated with more friendliness in an effort to achieve better academic result.

The system of tightly disciplined teaching was held valuable until the beginning of the new millennium in educational establishments of Uzbekistan, which, admittedly, resulted in preparing well-trained personnel to almost all professional fields. Successful development and reliability of such spheres as teaching, town-planning and medical care are often attributed to the type of education they received with teacher being more demanding and less approachable.

However, the changing face of today’s world will not seem to allow this approach to be effective anymore as the overall psychological and emotional state of young generation is showing a clear difference from those of their parents. For this reason, modern teaching standards require teacher to be more open towards the students during the lesson process. This assists more timid, yet gifted students to be able to perform alongside their socially active counterparts. According to the recent statistical researches, lessons involving ice-breaking techniques and relieved environment are proving to be more effective.

Apart from that, organisation of supportive and friendly lessons decreases the amount of stress students might receive during complex tasks or subjects they struggle at as well as admitting their mistakes more freely. This is mainly because they get the chance to share their learning outcomes confidently and face their flaws without the fear of strict punishment. The shift to the rising involvement of Uzbek youth into such creative but mentally challenging activities as robot technology or website-creation justifies this view.

To conclude, despite the fact that tightly disciplined teaching methods showed sophisticated results in the previous century, providing students with more freedom to interact with teacher during lessons can yield to academic success under modern circumstances as it boosts student self-confidence and makes way for self-assessment.