Some people think it is a good thing for senior managers to have much higher salaries than other workers in a company. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

There is a huge difference in the remuneration of people in senior management positions and their subordinates/juniors. Some people see this pay gap as a positive thing, and I completely agree with their point of view. This essay details the reasons for my view.

To inaugurate with, this pay gap acts as a motivation for other employees in the organization. This motivation makes the employee work harder to reach top management positions. If everyone in a company at every level is paid the same, no one will put in extra effort and key players will not be recognized. For instance, if a person wants to earn as much as his boss/director, he knows what level he needs to reach in order to receive that salary.

Moreover, top managers are the decision-makers and managers of the organization. They are always looking for new ideas and implement them so that the company makes a profit. They take responsibility for any work-related problems and are held accountable for their actions. They are even at higher risk of being fired if things go wrong. When they are more responsible to customers and other employees, they have every right to earn more than other colleagues. Furthermore, the skills required for decision-making are acquired through several years of experience and/or a management degree, which is the result of constant persistence and requires both time and money. Therefore, the company is obliged to pay them accordingly.

To conclude, the organizations must maintain the gap of positions and income so that the junior employee could passionately work to be on the same platform.