Some people think it is a good thing for senior managers to have much higher salaries than other workers in a company. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Thanks to technological developments, people living in the era of technology were expected to have more free time than their predecessors. From my perspective, whether the expectation has come true depends on specific cirumstances and individuals.

Those who argue that technological improvements can enable people enjoy more free time may have some convincing justifications. Chief among these is the advent of different machines or devices that have paved way for people to have a lifestyle that allow them to have greater leisure time. This is simply because these machinery devices can facilitate their workload or housework, even replace users to perform such work. Take vacuum cleaner robots for example, which can sweep, vacuum and mop the entire house automatically with their sensors, meaning that people who own this portable appliance tend not to worryy about their time for cleaning their house. The assistance of this technological breakthrough and other modern equipment, therefore, makes house chores no longer deprive people of their free time, thus helping them have more time to rest, socialize and enjoy their pastimes.

Notwithstanding the compelling arguments, there are still people nowadays who are busier than the past regardless of technolocial advances. Regarding people from low socioeconomic backgrounds, the modern devices are deemed prohibitively exorbitant, so they are unable to afford the equipment, so they continue to do their housework manually. As far as people with generous income are concerned, although they are more likely to possess the state-of-art devices and machines to ease their house chores, they intend to use their spare time to accomplish their remaining work at companies or devote it to another job. It is not uncommon for modern people who are responsible for mutiple jobs to earn more and more money, which is rooted in the fact that today’s society has a noticeable inclination to attach paramount importance of careers and weath. With those reasons, the notion that advanced technology can come at the expense of busy time for life may not be true as people use their time supposed to be freed by technology, in order to do their other priorities.

In conclusion, although there are good grounds for the prediction of the increased amount of free time in the era of technology, I think this prediction may not come true for those who are in financial difficulty or always sacrifice to work.