Some people think it is important to construct new buildings rather than wasting money on maintaining old ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays many people believe that it is more reasonable to build something new rather than to maintain old buildings. Personally, I disagree with this statement.

First of all, old buildings represent the cultural heritage, history and uniqueness of a country. It is important for us to preserve the culture and nation’s individuality for the future generations, buildings really help with this matter, as through looking at them we can say a lot about history. For instance, many Egyptian monuments have reliefs on the walls, which reflect some history-making events.

Moreover, historical architectural monuments are really good for the country’s economy. For example, castles or temples are attractive to tourists from all over the world. That is why in order to provide a significant share of income in the tourism sphere and increase the awareness of various cultures, it is important to preserve such buildings.

However, there are people that think that it is better to construct something new, as it is sometimes hard to reconstruct old buildings and as their constructions sometimes are not suitable to be used as modern offices or accommodation and only occupy the territory.

In conclusion, I want to say that in my opinion it is important to maintain old buildings, as they represent the cultural identity and help economic growth.