Some people think it is important to construct new buildings rather than wasting money on maintaining old ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, authorities and companies invest a lot of money in various infrastructure. Many believe that we must finance the construction of new buildings and keep up with the times, while others argue that it is more essential to repair ancient monuments, and we should protect our heritage from destruction. In my opinion, both points of view are relevant and justified, as I will explain in this essay.

On the one hand, most of the old buildings are outdated for today and are unusable. Governments of different countries regularly spend billions of dollars to keep them in good condition, when they could be invested in another modern projects which can bring many benefits to business or social programs. For example, instead of restoring the old residential building that can accommodate 100 people, it is much more profitable to build a new one designed for a thousand people. And it is likely that the new building will have better communication, more space and will be generally safer.

On the other hand, there are another factors that also seem to be highly important for countries and people: history and the beauty of ancient buildings. Despite progress in building new infrastructure, ancient monuments continue to attract millions of tourists every year. For instance, the most popular countries for travel are France, Italy, Spain, Egypt because of their heritage and cultural wealth. We cannot repeat the Egypt Pyramids or the Rome Forum due to the main value of these structures is the historical influence and uniqueness, and the goal of our generation is to preserve them, therefore authorities spend a lot of money for this area.

To sum up, construction of new buildings and maintaining old ones are both vitally important, therefore we government and non-profit organisations need to find a balance in the distribution of funds.