Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport system. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a controversy whether money should be spent more on roads rather than public vehicles. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement.

To begin with, it is crucial to invest money on public transport systems to reduce environmental problems and benefit people who do not have a vehicle. Obviously, as people use less private vehicles and more public ones, the amount of carbon dioxide emitted from exhaust fumes into the atmosphere declines. As a result, people would face less air pollution, which may severely damage their health and well-being. Besides, this is a great choice for people without their own transport such as a car or motorcycle if they have to travel daily.

On the other hand, devoting more money on roads diminishes traffic issues and increases the level of safety. Via a report in 2023 in Vietnam, a soaring number of traffic congestions at rush hour accompanies an upward tendency of accidents owing to substandard roads and holes on the surface. Accordingly, financing public money on widening and flattening routes not only prevents traffic problems but also saves time especially in rush-hour. Furthermore, this development ensures safety as well as creates better life quality for each and every individual.

In conclusion, instead of choosing between roads and vehicles to spend money on, the government should balance giving money on those in order to provide people with better living quality.