Some people think money is the best gift to give it to youngsters, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views whether giving money to teenagers as a gift is a good or bad idea. While sometimes it can be better for teenagers to get money as a present, I believe that receiving a real, material gift which reflects your individuality and interests feels far more pleasant.

On the one hand, there are some viable reasons why giving monetary gifts to teenagers is a great practice. Firstly, adolescents often prefer to have a feeling of freedom in their actions, and by having their own money which was given them as a present, they can buy anything they want according to their personal needs. Secondly, gifts in a form of money can also be beneficial in a long term, as teenagers can add those sums to their own savings, especially if they were intending to buy something expensive. Finally, people often decide to gift money to adolescents just because they do not know a lot about their preferences. For example, it is better for teenagers to receive some money rather than something that they dislike or that does not match their interests.

On the other hand, it is perhaps even more better to get a traditional present, as it feels much more exciting than just receiving money. By getting something that was specially bought or made for them, receivers will know that they are higly valued, and this creates strong bonds between the teenager and the person who has given the gift. Another thing that makes material presents special is that they serve as reminders of the gift-giver. Also, every time adolescents will look at this thing, they will instantly remember those moments of joy and excitement. Lastly, by deciding to give a teenager something which is not money, you can gift him a present which will be more useful for his own good. For example, this could be a collection of interesting books, and by giving them such a present, you will encourage them to read more, which is highly beneficial for them.

In conclusion, I can understand why people might think that money is the best gift for teenagers, but I would personally prefer to give them material presents, because money can not be as valuable and exciting as memories of receiving such gifts.