Some people think more public money should be spent on roads and motorways than public transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, traffic congestion has become a major problem in the country. To reduce the traffic problem, some individual think that more public funds should be spent on the roads and motorways rather than spending it on public transport. I largely disagree with the notion. The reason for my disagreement along with examples are given in further paragraphs.

To begin with, there are ample reasons to oppose this method. First and foremost, spending large amount of public funds on the roads can be detrimental to the authorities. Primarily, this step will put a huge burden on financial resources as the only put all money in making motorways rather than spending it on public transport. Secondly, if the public transport facilities will reduce than all the people will use their personal vehicle due to which it creates harm to the environment and it will create traffic jam in the city which waste more time and make noise pollution. To exemplify, in ahemdabad the facility of E-bus has started many years ago which helped local people to transport easily at cheaper price and without worrying about traffic and it reduced traffic in the city.

However, there are some positive sides also on spending money on roads or motorways as they serve all people and not just public transport takers. Roads can be use by all people over the country and with good quality the chance of accidents also decrease. Apart from this, public transport also relies on the road grid for locomotion, so better road service create smooth transportation for both private and public transport. For example, in ahemdabad personal section on road has been made for E-bus which make easy locomotion without any hurdles.

In conclusion, several other methods should utilise rather than spending more public money on road and motorways. In my opinion, using public funds more on public transport will be more feasible as it reduces traffic congestions and less harm to environment and diminish noice pollution.