Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives. Therefore, it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, news has become one of the essential sources for people to gain information, both from local and global levels. On the one hand, some people argue that news does not have a connection to individual lives as events in the news might occur in another area, and thus it only wastes people’s time. However, I disagree with that opinion and this essay will explain several reasons.

First of all, knowing the news gives several benefits for individual lives, both for education and health. Based on educational perspectives, much useful information is given by news or television to improve individual knowledge that is beneficial for them. For example, several television programs show the program of cooking for family to help mothers make more varied food in their homes. In addition, much modern news today provides plenty of information about ways to improve people’s health which is often available as free. For instance, in many health tabloids, there are several diet guides and sports tutorials that people can read anytime. Consequently, this has become one of the most effective ways to decrease the rate of unhealthy lifestyles.

Secondly, news can give substantial advantages for global needs, especially for a nation’s security and economy. Basically, one purpose of news is to give information about certain conditions in other countries which might be beneficial. For example, when there is a disease outbreak in a country, other countries can prepare for the disease quickly. As a result, they can effectively minimise the negative effects of the disease and generate solutions to overcome the outbreak. Furthermore, in terms of the economy, the news is the best media to provide faster information about economic development happening globally. For instance, information on changes in currency values is only available in the news and this information is useful for global trades.

In conclusion, news has a strong connection to people’s lives and can give many benefits both for individual and global needs.