Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives. Therefore, it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Before the advent of the printing press, there were no sources to get information about national and international events. However, this invention was followed by other developments in mass communication technologies, such as radio and television, over the centuries. Today, reading the news and watching news programmes have sparked a considerable debate. While some think that this is only a waste of their valuable time, I believe getting information about our community and wider society is significant for everyone.

To begin with, the news plays a pivotal role in our lives by helping us understand the occasions which influence our lives. This is because people are not always affected only by their own actions, political decisions also have a detrimental effect on their lives. For instance, the implementation of a new law about interest rates has an effect on people’s individual and home budgets. Therefore, it necessitates a change in people’s spending behavior. If people do not know about the new rule, they cannot decide what their actions should be. As a result, the news provides necessary information about politics that help us decide our own behavior and attitudes based on recent developments.

Moreover, the news is more valuable than other time-consuming activities such as using social media or watching a mainstream film. While the news is about our world and the occurrences which shape us, other activities only include the information related to unreal situations. Instead of spending our time on these activities, reading or watching the news allows us to foster critical thinking skills and a better understanding of our world. This means that the news is more beneficial than other activities because it develops other skills.

In conclusion, rather than being a waste of time, the news is significant for people because it informs us about our world and improves our abilities. It is essential to understand the importance of the news in our lives. If people understand the advantages of staying informed, they will spend more time following newspapers and news programmes.