Some people think parents should focus on children's physical health, and helping them with mental health is unnecessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that parents should concentrate on children’s physical fitness, and helping them with mental well-being is unessential. While I accept that physical fitness is crucial, I am more convinced that mental health must be paid attention to by parents.

On the one hand, the argument that parents must concentrate on children’s physical fitness is reasonable to some extent. Firstly, physical health is the foundation for everything; without it, children cannot do anything. For instance, when young children go to school, teachers would force them to do some exercises at the beginning of classes. Besides enhancing physical fitness, children can also improve their study performance and more easily pay attention to their lectures. In addition, fostering physical health allows adolescents to protect themselves. It has been reported that bullying is becoming widespread, especially at schools. Because of that, physical fitness is significantly supreme to children. By doing exercises such as studying martial arts, while boosting physical health, adolescents can also learn some measures when they have to face dangers in the future.

On the other hand, parents should take care of children’s mental well-being. To begin with, psychological health of children is the decisive element in the young’s life. For instance, some kids who have been taken care of mentally since they were young are easily able to take part in social activities with more confidence; the more parents care about mental health, the more stable children’s psychological well-being is. As a result, it can form children’s personalities and how they treat people in the future. Moreover, paying attention to the young’s mental fitness can prevent them from some mental diseases. Some experts have shown that children’s mental health is fragile and it can easily be affected by surrounding elements, such as criticism. If parents do not focus on their toddle’s mental health, children would have to face numerous types of mental illnesses, for example, depression or isolation.

In conclusion, it seems to me that both physical fitness and mental well-being have their own unique merits, but I am of the opinion that mental health should be focused on by parents.