Some people think parents should read or tell stories to children. Others think parents needn't do that as children can read books or watch TV, or movies by themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

IT HAS BEEN RIGHTLY SAID THAT THERE WERE GREAT SOCIETIES THAT DID NOT USE THE WHEELS BUT THERE ARE NO SOCIETIES THAT DID NOT TELL STORIES. THE QUESTION THAT HAS CREATED A LOT OF DEBATE IS WHETHER PARENTS SHOULD TELL STORIES TELL STORIES TO THEIR CHILDREN. MANY PEOPLE ARGUE THAT PARENTS SHOULD READ TO THEIR CHILDREN OR TELL THEM STORIES, WHILE SOME ARGUE THAT CHILDREN CAN READ BOOKS THEMSELVES OR WATCH TV SHOWS OR MOVIES. I, HOWEVER, SUPPORT THE FORMER VIEW.

FOR CENTURIES, MANY PARENTS HAVE READ BOOKS TO THEIR CHILDREN AND HAVE TOLD THEM STORIES. THERE ARE MANY UNDERLYING BENEFITS OF THIS ACT. SUCH AS, PARENTS CAN SPEND QUALITY TIME WITH THEIR CHILDREN. BY READING TO CHILDREN OR TELLING THEM STORIES AT A REGULAR TIME, THEY ARE STRENGTHENING THEIR BONDS AS PARENTS AND CHILDREN. THIS WILL ALSO SHAPE THE CHILD’S FUTURE, AS THEY WILL GROW UP FEELING LOVED AND TAKEN CARE OF. READING TO CHILDREN WILL ALSO CREATE AN INTEREST IN STORIES WITHIN THEM AND ENCOURAGE THEIR CREATIVITY TO BLOSSOM.

ON THE OTHER HAND, CHILDREN WATCHING TV SHOWS OR MOVIES AND READING BOOKS THEMSELVES WILL HELP THEM BE INDEPENDENT AT AN EARLY AGE AS THEY CHOOSE THEIR PREFERABLE MEDIA OR BOOKS. READING BOOKS OR WATCHING TV WILL ALSO HELP BUILD THEIR VOCABULARY AND MASTER THE USE OF LANGUAGE BETTER THAN THEIR PEERS. THIS COULD BE A HUGE ADVANTAGE FOR THE CHILDREN IN THEIR ACADEMIC CAREER. AS RESEARCH HAS SHOWN BETTER BRAIN DEVELOPMENTS OF CHILDREN WHO READ REGULARLY FROM AN EARLY AGE.

IN MY OPINION, PARENTS SHOULD READ TO THEIR CHILDREN OR TELL STORIES AS IT CREATES A STRONG BOND BETWEEN THEM. THIS INTERACTION WILL HELP CHILDREN TO BUILD INTERPERSONAL RELATIONSHIP WITH OTHERS AND ENCOURAGE THEM TO BE EMPATHETIC TOWARDS OTHERS. FEELING NURTURED AT AN YOUNG AGE WILL WILL HELP THEM GROW UP TO BE AN EMOTIONALLY WELL-ROUNDED ADULT.

IN CONCLUSION, I REITERATE MY POINT BY EMPHASIZING PARENTS READING TO THEIR CHILDREN OR TELLING THEM STORIES WILL NURTURE THEM WHILE GROWING UP.