Some people think parents should read or tell stories to children. Others think parents needn't do that as children can read books or watch TV, or movies by themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today’s technology driven world, some people believe that parents should pay sufficient attention and read or tell appropriate stories to youngsters, while others argue that it is unnecessary to spend time on this, as children can read on their own. I believe that parental involvement through reading or storytelling brings more benefits to children’s development.

On the one hand, parents should definitely spend time and pay sufficient attention to the development of their children, because reading and telling interesting stories may impact children’s well-being. Firstly, it can clearly demonstrate parents’ love and care, as some kids may feel neglected and insecure without such attention. Moreover, spending every evening together can enhance the bond between them and make their conversations more meaningful. Parents can have the opportunity to know what their children are reading and prevent them from accessing harmful materials. Many offspring have psychological difficulties which can lead to serious problems later in life. For instance, a study by UNICEF found that children whose parents read to them daily were 20% more likely to perform well in school.

On the other hand, in some cases it may be impossible for parents to read to their children, especially for those who have an overloaded and inflexible schedule. This is a common issue, as many parents work until late at night, and may not know what their children are doing. However, allowing children to choose by themselves helps them develop their own reading preferences and hobbies. This means that in the future, children can make conscious decisions independently, without parental guidance. Furthermore, focusing on work allows parents to earn more, which in turn can provide better opportunities for their children’s development. Nevertheless, this can lead children to watch inappropriate movies or interact with negative peer groups.

In conclusion, although allowing children to spend time according to their preferences helps to develop their own habits and interests, I strongly believe that parents should read to their children and be aware of their interests and activities, since this can prevents many avoidable problems.