Some people think paying taxes is a big enough contribution to society, while others think people have more responsibilities as members of society than only paying taxes. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some that the biggest contribution to society that people can make is paying taxes, whereas others argue that apart from paying taxes, there are other duties of people to contribute to society.

To begin with, there are various reasons why people think there is nothing better than being a taxpayer for their contribution to society. Initially, the government can spend the money that is paid by taxpayers on enhancing its infrastructure, including all systems—transportation, healthcare, education, and others. If governments do not impose on their citizens, they can struggle with finding finance for the improvement of their infrastructure because not all countries are affluent enough to cover all expenses by themselves. At the same time, imposts are returned to people in the form of pensions when they are retired. While working, people foot the bill to the government from their salaries, as a result of which this paid money will be gathered and paid back to the individuals during the retirement period.

In spite of these arguments, some people feel that paying taxes is not enough to develop a community. In their point of view, dwellers should be more engaged in different volunteering programs, such as helping elderly and disabled people with household chores, organizing charities, and so on. In turn, these attempts can strengthen the bonds among society members. Taking care of a neighbourhood is another factor leading to social improvement. Even though cleaning the area where people reside can seem like a minor input to the doers, it is usually assessed as one of the biggest contributions to society since keeping a clean area can play a significant role in the development of a community by offering fresh air and an environment. By virtue of these reasons, individuals believe that communities can be improved more by distinct, simple activities compared to paying taxes.

In my opinion, while paying taxes is an essential obligation that supports the functioning of public services, it is not the only liability of individuals toward their community. Enrolling in public activities and tidying up the neighborhood are equally vital for the community. Therefore, citizens should not only pay taxes but also take part in volunteering activities and keep their surroundings clean.

In conclusion, while paying taxes is considered the most important dedication to society, others believe that they can make a contribution to the community by actively doing volunteer work and taking care of their neighbourhoods. It seems to me that it is crucial for citizens to fulfill both their financial and civic responsibilities.