Some people think products should be made to last as long as possible, while others think making products cheap is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people think that businesses should produce items that last for a long period, while for others the focus should be on prices in order to create cheap products. Although the long life of products could be a good strategy, I think that companies should be concentrated more on price setting.

On the one hand, some industries aim to create strong and efficient products that last for a long time. By using good materials, they can produce reliable items that will be hardly deteriorated over time, attracting more and more consumers. For example, in 2010, Tupperware brought to the market an innovative plastic bottle that was set to last more than ten years, due to the quality of the raw materials. They sold so much that after a couple of years the market was saturated. For this reason, I believe that this should not be the primary strategy of a company because if you create a product that is impossible to be damaged, once everyone has a bottle, it could be very difficult to continue selling them, risking flattening sales.

On the other hand, other businesses prefer to focus their vision and mission on prices. These companies sell their products to the lowest price because they use inefficient raw materials, which are also cheap. Items could break down easily, involving customers to continue buying them because they are affordable. Therefore, producers would boost their sales significantly. For example, even though Chinese markets sell products that are highly fragile and short-lived, they continue to attract people, due to their competitive prices. I believe that companies should concentrate more on pricing strategies because it is the best choice to maximise profits and shareholders value.

In conclusion, creating long-term objects could be beneficial but only in the short-term, due to market saturation. However, focusing mostly on prices decisions may be the best solution in terms of sales