Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects. Other people say this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Answer:

Some parents consider that adding international news as a subject to the basic curriculum brings a positive development, while others argue that it is not worth children’s time. I believe that studying international news is not necessary for younger children since they can instead improve their other skills.

On the one hand, gaining knowledge about worldwide news is essential for the improvement of IQ and people’s awareness about global problems. In other words, by learning about global news from the young age, there is a tendency that people in the future will solve world problems in a faster way. For instance, this type of study program has been used in the United Kingdom, for a decade in order to prepare youngsters for the future obstacles. First five years of this system showed that student’s IQ level has improved to 100, while in the past it showed 96.

On the other hand, studying international news is unnecessary for the young children. This means that studying latter subject is unsuitable for the secondary school since the students are only starting analyzing tasks and solving simple questions in those years. I think instead of focusing on global situations youngsters should focus on developing their basic understanding of math and science. For example, an enhancement of basic curriculum would be more beneficial for students due to the fact that good funding of math and literature often leads to a higher academic performance and higher grades. So I believe it would be better to focus on international news in senior year.

To conclude, I think both of these statements influence children in the positive way. Nevertheless, it would be hard for secondary school students to study news about serious issues in the world, therefore this subject should be studied in the high schools.