Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe it encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While others believe that technology development decreases the crime rate, there are those who argue that it actually increases criminal behavior in various ways. Hence, both arguments are supported by reasonable evidence; from my point of view, the advancement in technology has led to illegal acts.

On the one hand, supporters of the first view argue that, advanced surveillance systems, such as online monitoring and CCTV, help authorities prevent crime more effectively and because criminals know they can be caught on camera, which deters them, Surveillance cameras not only deter criminals but also provide crucial evidence in court cases, helping to reduce crime globally. Additionally smart home security systems alert residents and law enforcement to break-ins, reducing property crime. Furthermore, innovative tools can make forensic methods easier and more efficient.

On the other hand, development in technology can lead to many crimes, and they usually happen on online platforms, in this day and age many children use internet to communicate with people. The rise of social media has made it easier for scammers to deceive vulnerable individuals. Such as banning a game in more that half of the world because of numerous predators and scammers trying to violate children. Because of the rapid development of technology, personal information, such as credit card details, can be obtained without individuals’ knowledge, often simply by downloading illegal applications.

Taking everything into consideration, the impact of technology on crime is twofold, offering both benefits in crime prevention and opportunities for illegal activities, but its risks cannot be ignored.