Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe it encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Advanced technology has become a growing concern among the public. Whilst several individuals approve of its ability to reduce crime rate, others suppose it is one of the pushing factor to the issue. From my perspective, I concur with the latter view. In this essay, I will critically elaborate on both sides and present my own stance.

On the one hand, cutting-edge technology offers numerous approaches to curb the crime commitment. To begin with, modern devices, namely image sensors or automatic alarm have been installed at every corners of the residential areas. As a results, when crime happens, those tools can capture the sequence of events, making it more effective for authority to trace the perpetrator. Beyond that, all personal information of residents are integrated and stored in the cyber space of the government. Given that, with personal traits captured from cameras, it will take less time and effort for police investigate the case and identify the perpetrator, securing order of society.

On the other hand, there is no denying that the innovative advances lie in a lot of potential dangers. Equipped with superior features, the devices, such as computers or phones can condition cyber crime to violate the law. For instance, with the support from those features, criminals can intrude personal information from users’ devices, causing identity thief. What is more, modern technology yields numerous hardships for the investigation procedure because of criminals’ identity are not only hidden behind the screen, but these tech-perpetrator can create virtual barrier, which is called fire wall, to wipe out all the traces and prevent the investigators.

In conclusion, if being well-used, advanced technology can be an excellent accompany to lessen the criminal rate; however, I believe that the drawbacks will outperform the advantages due to chances of getting information leak and the barrier for the investigation efforts