Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

Everybody agrees that each individual should try to positively contribute to the community they live in. While some people claim that teenagers should be obliged to work for the society for free, I disagree with this view as its drawbacks are more prevalent.

On the one hand, there could be several reasons why the unpaid labor of young adults might be worthwhile. Firstly, communities get extra workers to help them deliver a variety of services to local inhabitants. Take for example a schoolboy delivering medicaments from hospital to the house of an old, retired woman, who struggle to walk. Secondly, it helps to instill a sense of unity and responsibility in teenagers who later will go on to be a valuable member of the society. Thirdly, it helps young people to gain work experience, teaches discipline, thus preparing them for adulthood.

Despite these benefits, I am against any forced child labor. Let us not forget that child labor is prohibited in many countries across the globe and they can hardly be productive workers, not to mention they need extensive supervision and mentorship. Another argument is that time allocated for unpaid job could be better spent on doing sports, going to museums and libraries or just on their own hobbies. Obviously, children should have freedom and be exposed to different kinds of activities to learn and broaden their perspective. Finally, any forced job with no pay is simply illegal and must be rewarded financially, unless teenagers explicitly agree to participate and volunteer.

To sum up, teenagers by no means may be coerced into doing community work for free. They are entitled to have freedom to choose if they want to get involved in those activities.