Some people think that ambition is essential for success. To what extent do you agree?

The question of whether ambition is crucial to succeed elicits varied opinions. In my view, despite the fact that ambition is important, it is worth emphasizing that setting objectives, having a resilient spirit, and acquiring appropriate skills should not be undermined.

It is interesting to underscore the conspicuousness of setting objectives. They are the main pillars of a purpose-driven life. Consequently, succeeding in life requires people to establish goals and devise strategic plans to achieve them. The reason being that, a vision without clearly stated objectives remains a dream. UK universities, for instance, are ranked among the best worldwide, because not only are they ambitious, but they have clear goals and road maps that guide them.

Another evident element of success resides in showing resilience and perseverance. Life is full of difficult times and ambition alone might not be sufficient to surmount obstacles. However, perseverant and resilient minds can well succeed. As an example, evidence suggests that individuals who persistently and consistently perform a task end up being successful.

Finally, it is essential to gain the relevant practical skills that are able to drive success. While ambition is good, being skillful at doing a task is better. For instance, a person can have all the desire it requires to be a medical doctor, but without the necessary skills, that desire may never become reality. Therefore, ambitious people should consider acquiring skills that will take them closer to their goals.

To conclude, the journey unto success certainly starts with an ambition, but having well defined objectives, appropriate skills and qualities such as resilience, is fundamental. While a person becomes apt at doing something, objectives will give a clear direction to follow, meanwhile resilience will empower the person in times of distress.