Some people think that an enhanced quality of life can only be achieved with economic development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many countries’ economic development has been crucial to ensure their progress and improve their citizens’ well-being. While some people believe that people’s enhanced quality of life depends solely on economic development, I partially disagree with this view. I contend that it also lies in the quality of education that individuals receive, leading to more balanced lives, improved well-being and stable economies.

Many people believe that a better quality of life can only be achieved with economic development. This belief is based on countries whose citizens have high GDP and enjoy enhanced qualities of life. However, this is not always the case because there are countries that have had economic growth but their citizens do not have access to efficient healthcare systems, quality education and social welfare. For instance, many African and Asian countries have these social inequality issues, affecting their citizens quality of life. Specifically, Angola is one of the most salient oil producers and importers nations globally with a high GDP, but their citizens lack what they need to have an improved life expectancy.

Conversely, individuals’ enhanced quality of life not only lies in a nation’s economic development but also in its excellent standard of education. Countries with efficient healthcare systems and social welfare, also having excellent quality education that fosters critical thinking and balanced lives, has significantly enhanced the population’s life expectancy. The convergence of these characteristics ultimately contribute to more stable economies. For example, some European countries that are not the richest countries in the world have excellent educational systems that promote citizens’ enhanced life expectancies. To illustrate, Norway and Finland have educational institutions with high standards, leading to good quality of life worldwide.

In conclusion, individuals’ enhanced quality of life depends on both economic development and excellent educational systems. Some countries with great economic growth do not posses societies with enhanced quality of lives due to social inequality and poor education. Therefore, governments should allocate sufficient resources to improve social equality and educational institutions, thereby enhancing their citizens’ life expectancies and their economies.