Task 2: While some people claim that advertising drives economic growth, others suggest it harms society by making individuals feel unhappy with themselves and their belongings. Consider both arguments and present your viewpoint. Explain your viewpoint with reasons and include appropriate examples based on your knowledge or experiences.

One school of thought holds that product promotion enhances countries’ economy yet others believe that it has detrimental effects and lead to feeling sad about people’s possessions. While acknowledging the reasons why some support the latter, I still agree more with the former.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some argue that ads may make people dissatisfied with their purchases, resulting in adverse impacts on society. This can be attributed to the fact that firms promote products with perfect functions and qualities. In addition to this, they sometimes compare the promoted product with the others to highlight their product’s perfection, leading to a sense of dissatisfaction and unhappiness among clients because of their belongings’ imperfection. This therefore may manipulate customers purchasing the promoted products. Nevertheless, not all people are unhappy with what they have because of the better purchase advertised. This is because factors affect clients’ decision not only about how good the products are, but also prices, appropriate purposes and targets to suit consumers’ needs.

On the other hand, I side with those advocating the idea that ads have positive impacts on the economy. Promotion can make a business become more recognisable, particularly start-ups and small businesses, if a company launches a successful marketing campaign. For instance, a cosmetic brand named Rhode often delivers the new product to influencers to use and share their thoughts on social media platforms such as Tiktok, Youtube and Facebook before the official product reveal, which draws public attention effectively. Another advantage of ads is that it can significantly increase sales owing to the fact that clients often prefer to purchase items from well-known and good reputation corporations. As a result, their sales will rise considerably. For example, it is reported that Rhode achieves roughly 70% sales growth over a year. This eventually led to the overall economic growth because the profits of these companies contribute to the country’s economy by taxing.

In conclusion, while marketing campaigns may cause negative impacts due to making people unhappy with their possessions, I personally think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. In fact, ads improve brand visibility and sales.